A Commissioner for Oaths is appointed by the Lord Chancellor. The powers granted are to administer oaths, obtain affidavits and statutory declarations.
This appointment is automatically granted to certain legal professionals who are in practice or to some others because of their particular position or role in the legal system.

The list of the legal professionals who are Commissioners for Oaths automatically is as given below:

  • Barrister
  • Solicitor
  • Fellow of the Institute of Legal Executives